food and drink

Strawberry-Basil Simple Syrup

Being that Andrew has his fancy mixologist job, shrubs and unique simple syrups have become something that I’ve been playing around with at home.
Earlier this week I made a strawberry-basil simple syrup which I handed out to a few of my co-workers that didn’t think those two items would taste good together. “Strawberry pizza,” was a flavor concern from my friend Michelle.
I came home to make a new batch but I realized I was dangerously low on strawberries, so instead I made a mixed berry and basil simple syrup which was just as good, if not better.

img_8535-1
Recipe:
1 cup berries (thaw before hand if using frozen)
1 1/2 cup fresh basil leaves, whole
1 cup sugar
1 1/4 cup water

Add fruit and basil to a large mixing bowl, slowly add sugar over top and muddle as you go.
Mix until the sugar is blended in and the fruit is well pulverized. I’m not at writing this kind of thing so bear with me.

Combine water and berry soup and bring to a boil while stirring. I usually let it boil for about a minute before pouring it into a mason jar to cool down. Done. Easy. Delicious.


One of my favorite things to do with this stuff is put a couple ounces into a glass with an ounce of lemon juice and some seltzer. Berry-basil fizzy lemonade.
Over ice cream is good too.

Leave a Reply

