cocktails · food and drink

Roses

I’ve always been torn over the idea of receiving flowers.

One one hand, it’s a nice gesture, they’re pretty, they smell nice.
On the other, they start to wilt within a week and soon they have no more use.

I didn’t have enough flowers to make potpourri but I had a single rose.
Taking the rose apart was actually a little depressing. I don’t receive flowers as gifts very often because I’m usually pretty vocal over my distaste of being given something that’s going to die in a few days. I like practical gifts.

R.I.P.

And now to turn it into syrup.

I had about a cup of petals so I went with the standard one and one with the sugar and the water, brought it to a boil and then let it simmer for a little while.

The color it produced is so beautiful. I was doing this last night though and I couldn’t get the right lighting without washing everything out

This morning I added a little balsamic to make it a balsamic-rose shrub. Something about it didn’t turn out quite right though-even before adding the vinegar- so I’m not going to post the recipe until I figure out what went wrong.
I’m going to be on the hunt for more pesticide-free roses or possible just buy some food-grade dried petals and attempt this one again.

Leave a Reply

